Clicking on Hyperlinks

Talk to Vagile. Vagile cares.

Moderator: Vagile

Post Reply
User avatar
Alces
Order of the White Elephant
Order of the White Elephant
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:36 am
Profession: *.Stereotype
Race: Human
Player Status: Inactive
Location: So Cal, USA
Contact:

Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Alces » Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:49 am

Hi Vagile,

If this is even an option- Would you please consider adjusting the settings so that when a hyperlink is clicked on, it opens the link in a new window?

It makes navigating waaaaay easier- I keep hitting the back button after following a link and getting a "webpage expired" message.

Thanks! :mrgreen:
Characters on PSA Rank Tracker:
Alces (DPS) - Athran (Brick) - Angadol (Rod) - Abner (Horus) - Ajah (Repairs)
Math, imploring the GMs, wrote:Take bold measures, gentlemen. Save the game.

User avatar
Cinnamon
Sun Dragon Clan
Sun Dragon Clan
Posts: 6375
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 5:06 am

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Cinnamon » Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:54 am

Likely a local browser setting to do this.
This sig pic removed by Vagile

User avatar
Alces
Order of the White Elephant
Order of the White Elephant
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:36 am
Profession: *.Stereotype
Race: Human
Player Status: Inactive
Location: So Cal, USA
Contact:

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Alces » Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:58 am

Of all of the other message boards that I browse while on this machine, this is the only one that doesn't open links in a new window.
Characters on PSA Rank Tracker:
Alces (DPS) - Athran (Brick) - Angadol (Rod) - Abner (Horus) - Ajah (Repairs)
Math, imploring the GMs, wrote:Take bold measures, gentlemen. Save the game.

User avatar
Math
Dwarven Militia
Dwarven Militia
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 2:10 pm
Profession: Mystic
Race: Dwarf
Player Status: Spambot
Location: about 23 sn'ells away
Contact:

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Math » Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:35 am

On Firefox on Mac, if you command-click on a link it will open it in a new tab by default. I'm sure other browsers and/or other operating systems have or can be made to have similar behavior.

Left-clicking on the link will open in the same window.

That is standard browser behavior and I like it that way. Gives the user control.

I don't like target="_blank". What if I want it to open in the same window? I have to right-click the link, Copy Link Location, and paste it in the address bar.
Math, Son of Ironforge
Dwarven Militia: http://www.dwarvenmilitia.com/
Dwarven History: http://www.clanlord.com/history/dwarves/

User avatar
Alces
Order of the White Elephant
Order of the White Elephant
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:36 am
Profession: *.Stereotype
Race: Human
Player Status: Inactive
Location: So Cal, USA
Contact:

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Alces » Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:43 am

Running IE on a Windoze machine here @ work.

Oh sure- I could right-click on each link that I wanted to open and select "Open in New Window", but damnit if that's not too much work for my lazy ass. Image
Characters on PSA Rank Tracker:
Alces (DPS) - Athran (Brick) - Angadol (Rod) - Abner (Horus) - Ajah (Repairs)
Math, imploring the GMs, wrote:Take bold measures, gentlemen. Save the game.

User avatar
Lorikeet
Pogue Mahone
Pogue Mahone
Posts: 3718
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 12:58 pm
Profession: Healer
Race: Fen'neko
Player Status: Active
Contact:

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Lorikeet » Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:04 am

Alces wrote:Running IE on a Windoze machine here @ work.

Oh sure- I could right-click on each link that I wanted to open and select "Open in New Window", but damnit if that's not too much work for my lazy ass. Image
Geez. I like that feature, so I can decide which way I want to open something. Seems it would only be a pain if you didn't have a mouse with a right click.

Skirwan
Dwarven Militia
Dwarven Militia
Posts: 2971
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 6:39 pm
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Ghorak Zo
Player Status: Inactive
Location: SNN Planar News Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Skirwan » Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:38 am

I'm with Math. I know how to open links the way I want to open them, and I hate web sites that think they know better.
“However,” said Dumbledore, speaking very slowly and clearly so that none of them could miss a word, “you will find that I will only truly have left this school when none here are loyal to me.”

User avatar
Raul
Noble
Posts: 1380
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 7:05 am
Contact:

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Raul » Fri Jul 10, 2009 1:39 pm

i use an addon on firefox called all-in-one gestures
makes browsing so much easier

Dyaus
Exile
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:32 pm
Profession: Ranger
Race: Ghorak Zo
Player Status: Inactive
Location: GMT-8
Contact:

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Dyaus » Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:02 pm

Alces wrote:Running IE on a Windoze machine here @ work.

Oh sure- I could right-click on each link that I wanted to open and select "Open in New Window", but damnit if that's not too much work for my lazy ass. Image
1. Switch to Firefox. ;)

2. Control + clicking a link in Firefox opens it in a new tab. Shift + clicking opens in a new window. Not sure if one or both of those translate to IE.

User avatar
Cinnamon
Sun Dragon Clan
Sun Dragon Clan
Posts: 6375
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 5:06 am

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Cinnamon » Sat Jul 11, 2009 9:36 am

Lorikeet wrote: Geez. I like that feature, so I can decide which way I want to open something. Seems it would only be a pain if you didn't have a mouse with a right click.
Apple is infallible! You don't need right-click. Check out this styling, how will this look on your desk...that light lets tells you it's off. :P
This sig pic removed by Vagile

Eldon
CL GM
CL GM
Posts: 2869
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 6:04 pm
Location: Fairgrounds
Contact:

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Eldon » Sat Jul 11, 2009 6:37 pm

Alces wrote:Hi Vagile,

If this is even an option- Would you please consider adjusting the settings so that when a hyperlink is clicked on, it opens the link in a new window?

It makes navigating waaaaay easier- I keep hitting the back button after following a link and getting a "webpage expired" message.

Thanks! :mrgreen:
If someone tells me where to find it in the admin portion, I'll do it.
Eldon, a Clan Lord GM
Cinnamon wrote:I think you're one of the best GMs I've ever been frustrated with. 11 years & counting. I'm a loyal CL addict & you're a big part of why. For being willing to stick your chin out, many thanks.

User avatar
Lorikeet
Pogue Mahone
Pogue Mahone
Posts: 3718
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 12:58 pm
Profession: Healer
Race: Fen'neko
Player Status: Active
Contact:

Re: Clicking on Hyperlinks

Post by Lorikeet » Sat Jul 11, 2009 6:55 pm

Eldon wrote:
Alces wrote:Hi Vagile,

If this is even an option- Would you please consider adjusting the settings so that when a hyperlink is clicked on, it opens the link in a new window?

It makes navigating waaaaay easier- I keep hitting the back button after following a link and getting a "webpage expired" message.

Thanks! :mrgreen:
If someone tells me where to find it in the admin portion, I'll do it.

I think we don't want you to "fix" this for everyone. But if there is a possibility that you could individually choose that option in settings, it would be okay.

Post Reply