Intermittent Error Message

General Clan Lord discussion

Moderator: CL GMs

Post Reply
Mjollnir
Noble
Posts: 1039
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 2:11 am
Profession: Healer/Alchemist
Race: Sylvan
Player Status: Spambot
Contact:

Intermittent Error Message

Post by Mjollnir » Fri Jul 29, 2011 10:58 am

After taking a brief break while moving house I've started receiving an off intermittent error message which disconnects me from the server saying "Error receiving data from the server", if I then join the game again the first time i connect it brings up the picture of wherever I am but I cant move, none of the commands work and the game doesn't update, I then have to disconnect and re join at least once but I have had to do it up to 3 times. Nothing has changed in my computer setup, and my ISP is the same as before I moved house although we do have a new modem/router.

Does anybody know if this is likely a port forwarding error and if so do they know which ports to forward to avoid it, or is it some other kind of error entirely?
A good pun is its own reword

User avatar
noivad
Order of the White Elephant
Order of the White Elephant
Posts: 3333
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 4:04 pm
Profession: Fighter
Race: Sylvan
Player Status: Active
Location: SF Bay Area
Contact:

Re: Intermittent Error Message

Post by noivad » Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:08 am

If you want help diagnosing it, post your system (OS and version) and what router (make, model and model number -- down to the version of model number it is and firmware version if you can find it) you have. It's pretty obvious that it's the new router or the cabling in the new house though, but knowing the platform you're on helps too. Also, do you have a separate router and modem? is it Cable or DSL?

It's not a port forwarding issue because if that was the case then you wouldn't be able to connect to CL at all. Also, are you talking about just playing the game you're getting DCed or does this happen when there's an update and you have to download the new client and then the updates to the image and sound files?

You might just have a bad connection to the ISP which could be anything from the modem that could be flakey, or a sync issue due to bad lines, or improper handshaking between the modem and the ISP (another flakey modem issue). Have you tried resetting the modem and the router (if separate)? Sometimes that can clear up the issue. But if it doesn't you'd have to have the ISP who provided your modem to come out and test the modem and for line noise.
http://www.clanlord.net/
Org Du Lac's bestiary: http://bestiary.clanlord.net/index.html
Gil Galad’s Pirates http://pirates.clanlord.net/ & Ranger Studies: http://studies.clanlord.net/
?security warning:View cert•CL players assess valid by refs

Mjollnir
Noble
Posts: 1039
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 2:11 am
Profession: Healer/Alchemist
Race: Sylvan
Player Status: Spambot
Contact:

Re: Intermittent Error Message

Post by Mjollnir » Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:51 am

PC running Windows 7
Virgin SuperHub modem-router (it's a netgear box designed for my ISP)
Cable

It happens while I'm playing at random intervals, and after a few more boots last night I was wrong on one aspect, when I log on frozen I still recieve data from the server (ie I can still see what other people are doing to an extent but I can't communicate back),

The cabling I brought with me from the old house so yes I guess that does leave the modem-router or its connection to the outside world
A good pun is its own reword

Post Reply