Page 1 of 4

Arindal Java client to play Clan Lord on a PC

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 8:31 pm
by Haze
http://www.arindal.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=304

Arindal's Java client is in open alpha.. it works with Clan Lord, too.

When you launch the application, go to the "Optionen" menu, and select "Einstellungen." Click on the "Netzwerk Einstellungen" tab, check the proxy box, and change the server to "server.clanlord.com"

Connect (Datei->Character Wahlen...) and it will download the Clan Lord images/sound file. Then you will connect to Clan Lord.

Seems a little buggy, but I hope this means we'll be able to abandon Basilisk for good soon :)

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:01 pm
by Intelligentjerk
Or you could play Arindal and join me in the quest to conquere all none Americans... either way works.

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:17 pm
by TreeBeard
you should seriously try Stand up comedy IJerk.. Im serious!

Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:03 am
by Icy
seriously? your serious? sweet

no but really im posting because i get an error....says the current version is v383 you have v38101

Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:34 am
by Mjollnir
Right at +2 every fortnight 38101 is 725 years from now :P

Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:27 am
by Fundin
Im thinking they picked up on the fact it could be used on CL and changed something. This arindal update changed from the first one, which did work. You might be lucky and find someone with the old client.

Either that or ask a CL GM, they must be talking with Arindal GM's about when we can get teh java client.

Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:51 am
by Cinnamon
It sounds like they've intentionally disallowed it. Could be contract/licensing issue. As much as we have gotten comfortable with a certain level of ownership of CL, hacking in with an unsupported client could cause some nice people serious trouble. :?

Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:11 pm
by Aldernon
I had no trouble setting it up in the last 30 minutes.

It works like a charm...even runs smoothly from work. I'm impressed and concerned that I'll get less work done, yet more clanning...hrm...

Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:49 pm
by Fundin
I guess icy can try again as they have done 3 updates in 3 days so there will be a new client out again, different from the one you tried.

Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:20 pm
by Del'Arus
Works fine for me too.

Downloaded the complete CL_Counds file instead of the incremental update, but other than that, worked fine.

Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:30 am
by Ann
Delta Tao is pleased to announce that the Java client previously released only for Arindal is now being openly tested for Clan Lord as well. Our thanks to the Arindal team, who are still actively working on this client.

If you need a Java Runtime Environment for your OS, see the Java site. OS X already has one installed, but I don't know why Mac users would want to use the Java client anyway.

To download the Java client itself, first copy your latest CL_Images and CL_Sounds files into a separate folder, then download the Java Webstart (.jnlp) file. Launch it, let it download a few helper files, and when it asks where to save the data files, point it to the folder where you copied them. There is currently no way to change this location later on. (If you don't already have the images and sounds in the folder you tell it, it will download the full files again.)

Please remember that this client is beta software -- maybe even alpha. It definitely has bugs. I know it doesn't work properly in OS 10.3.8 right now, for example, although it is intended to work on Macs, and I've used past versions. You can certainly try it out, and we welcome bug reports to pass along to the Arindal Java developers, but it's definitely not considered official, supported software yet. (The client itself won't mess up your character information, but if you get killed or drop the wrong item or accidentally say "reset me" to Resetus because you're using the Java client, we won't be able to help.)

Enjoy!

Ann

Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 12:32 pm
by Sielk
Ann wrote:Delta Tao is pleased to announce that the Java client previously released only for Arindal is now being openly tested for Clan Lord as well. Our thanks to the Arindal team, who are still actively working on this client.

If you need a Java Runtime Environment for your OS, see the Java site. OS X already has one installed, but I don't know why Mac users would want to use the Java client anyway.

To download the Java client itself, first copy your latest CL_Images and CL_Sounds files into a separate folder, then download the Java Webstart (.jnlp) file. Launch it, let it download a few helper files, and when it asks where to save the data files, point it to the folder where you copied them. There is currently no way to change this location later on. (If you don't already have the images and sounds in the folder you tell it, it will download the full files again.)

Please remember that this client is beta software -- maybe even alpha. It definitely has bugs. I know it doesn't work properly in OS 10.3.8 right now, for example, although it is intended to work on Macs, and I've used past versions. You can certainly try it out, and we welcome bug reports to pass along to the Arindal Java developers, but it's definitely not considered official, supported software yet. (The client itself won't mess up your character information, but if you get killed or drop the wrong item or accidentally say "reset me" to Resetus because you're using the Java client, we won't be able to help.)

Enjoy!

Ann


Will this client still be in German? Is there an english version?

Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 12:34 pm
by Ann
The clanlord.jnlp file from that link is in English and connects to Clan Lord.

Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 1:25 am
by Odesseus
Holy crap Ann. You really don't want me to work...

;">

Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 1:18 pm
by Mjollnir
Well i dont know how you managed it Ald the java client works horrably for me.
Its incredably laggy, has very poor macro support and either some commands or some items (i cant tell which) just plain dont work.

How do we go about bug reporting? do we just use /bug in game and the GMs will pass it on or should we be posting on the Arindal forums?