CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Moderators: Kani, CL GMs

User avatar
Borzon
Arilon Legacy
Arilon Legacy
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:29 am
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Sylvan
Player Status: Inactive

CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Borzon » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:06 pm

Everytime I try to log in I log in for a very tiny moment (e.g. I hear the money sound for paid lib) and then it disconnects and my client shuts down. This also happens when I try to watch a visionstone. I really have no idea what the problem is because a few months ago CL worked fine on my mac. Anyone can tell me what the problem might be?

User avatar
Lorikeet
Pogue Mahone
Pogue Mahone
Posts: 3718
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 12:58 pm
Profession: Healer
Race: Fen'neko
Player Status: Active
Contact:

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Lorikeet » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:09 pm

Which version is your operating system, and did you download the new client?

Skirwan
Dwarven Militia
Dwarven Militia
Posts: 2971
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 6:39 pm
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Ghorak Zo
Player Status: Inactive
Location: SNN Planar News Headquarters
Contact:

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Skirwan » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:13 pm

Open up the console (Applications > Utilities > Console) and see if anything is logged as CL shuts down.
“However,” said Dumbledore, speaking very slowly and clearly so that none of them could miss a word, “you will find that I will only truly have left this school when none here are loyal to me.”

User avatar
Borzon
Arilon Legacy
Arilon Legacy
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:29 am
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Sylvan
Player Status: Inactive

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Borzon » Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:07 am

I've got the new client.

When I do what Skirwan said with console I get:

Code: Select all

11-11-10(W45) 16:05:57 com.apple.launchd[112] ([0x0-0x75075].com.deltatao.clanlord.client[732]) Exited abnormally: Bus error 

Skirwan
Dwarven Militia
Dwarven Militia
Posts: 2971
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 6:39 pm
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Ghorak Zo
Player Status: Inactive
Location: SNN Planar News Headquarters
Contact:

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Skirwan » Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:27 am

Weird.

You get the login sound effects -- do you see any game graphics before it dies?
“However,” said Dumbledore, speaking very slowly and clearly so that none of them could miss a word, “you will find that I will only truly have left this school when none here are loyal to me.”

User avatar
Borzon
Arilon Legacy
Arilon Legacy
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:29 am
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Sylvan
Player Status: Inactive

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Borzon » Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:54 am

Skirwan wrote:Weird.

You get the login sound effects -- do you see any game graphics before it dies?
nope stays grey, I also don't get anything in my textlog.

User avatar
Lorikeet
Pogue Mahone
Pogue Mahone
Posts: 3718
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 12:58 pm
Profession: Healer
Race: Fen'neko
Player Status: Active
Contact:

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Lorikeet » Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:47 am

Do you have 10.4 or later? And did you try redownloading it? (I only ask non-technical stuff ;) )

Skirwan
Dwarven Militia
Dwarven Militia
Posts: 2971
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 6:39 pm
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Ghorak Zo
Player Status: Inactive
Location: SNN Planar News Headquarters
Contact:

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Skirwan » Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:49 am

Try turning off OpenGL in the CL prefs.
“However,” said Dumbledore, speaking very slowly and clearly so that none of them could miss a word, “you will find that I will only truly have left this school when none here are loyal to me.”

User avatar
Borzon
Arilon Legacy
Arilon Legacy
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:29 am
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Sylvan
Player Status: Inactive

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Borzon » Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:40 am

I got 10.5 and downloaded it a few times already bit didn't work.

Will try that Skirwan thanks.
Last edited by Borzon on Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Borzon
Arilon Legacy
Arilon Legacy
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:29 am
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Sylvan
Player Status: Inactive

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Borzon » Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:42 am

Turned off openGL, made no diffrence

Code: Select all

11-11-10(W45) 18:41:47 com.apple.launchd[112] ([0x0-0xab0ab].com.deltatao.clanlord.client[1096]) Exited abnormally: Bus error 

Skirwan
Dwarven Militia
Dwarven Militia
Posts: 2971
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 6:39 pm
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Ghorak Zo
Player Status: Inactive
Location: SNN Planar News Headquarters
Contact:

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Skirwan » Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:47 am

I'm out of ideas. You're going to need to track down ClientGM.
“However,” said Dumbledore, speaking very slowly and clearly so that none of them could miss a word, “you will find that I will only truly have left this school when none here are loyal to me.”

User avatar
Borzon
Arilon Legacy
Arilon Legacy
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:29 am
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Sylvan
Player Status: Inactive

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Borzon » Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:49 am

Skirwan wrote:I'm out of ideas. You're going to need to track down ClientGM.
Allright thanks for your help.

User avatar
Jeanne
Sun Dragon Clan
Sun Dragon Clan
Posts: 859
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 8:18 am
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Fen'neko
Player Status: Spambot
Location: Looking at the Moon
Contact:

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Jeanne » Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:24 am

A Bus Error happens when the program tries to access memory that doesn't exist. Perhaps you should check your ram to see if they're in good working condition.
Jeanne (Bloodmage) - Moon Kitty (Healer) - Himitsu (Fighter/Ranger)
Lok'Groton Adventures

Appletell - Apple, Mac, iPod, iPad, iPhone news and reviews and commentary.

User avatar
Maeght
Trainer
Posts: 5647
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:05 pm
Profession: Ranger
Race: Halfling
Player Status: Active
Location: University of Puddleby
Contact:

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Maeght » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:56 pm

Backup your old client folder and reinstall fresh. You may simply have a bad file in there.

User avatar
Borzon
Arilon Legacy
Arilon Legacy
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:29 am
Profession: Bloodmage
Race: Sylvan
Player Status: Inactive

Re: CL doesn't work on my mac =/

Post by Borzon » Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:51 am

Maeght wrote:Backup your old client folder and reinstall fresh. You may simply have a bad file in there.
Tried that a few times already.

Post Reply